Information About Our School Board


Hamblen County School Board-Decorative Image




The Hamblen County Board of Education consists of seven members.  
The board appoints the director of schools.

Board members are elected for four-year terms.
They are responsible for setting educational policy for the school system.

Officers are the chair, vice chair and secretary.  They take office each September.

The director of schools is the chief executive officer of the school district and serves as secretary to the board.  He administers the policies set by the school board.



Vision, planning and teamwork are the keys to being an effective school
board, according to the Hamblen County Board of Education.

Over the past few years, the Hamblen County board has won several Awards for Excellence in Education Programs from TSBA.  The most recent award being recognized as the 2012 TSBA School Board of the Year.  They have also been deemed a School Board of Distinction since 2002.  The board is always looking for ways to do things better. The board picks up on success stories in other systems and determines whether those programs will work in Hamblen County.